Aiming for the World Cup or the Olympics? Or simply want to know what it takes to pursue sport at an elite level? 

Let us introduce you to Kathryn, an Engineering and Science Student and member of the Sydney Uni Flames basketball team competing in the WNBL. Let us know whose story you would like to read about and ASK ENID. 

Hey gal, this is me…. Kathryn but most people call me Krendell! I am 22 and studying a Bachelor of Engineering and Science at the University of Sydney.

My deal is… I am a student athlete here at USyd. My majors are in biomedical engineering and computer science. When I am not studying you’ll find me on the basketball court. I play for the Sydney Uni Flames in the Women’s National Basketball League (WNBL). I also have a variety of jobs that keep me busy, as a tutor, receptionist and basketball coach.

How I got here… I grew up in Canberra and started playing basketball when I was 9. I immediately fell in love with the sport as it put my height to good use! I continued to play throughout high school where I was selected to attend various Australian Junior Camps. I started training with the Canberra Capitals when I was 17.

I was a bit of a nerd in school and took courses in specialist math, chemistry, English and legal studies. I studied hard and finished Year 12 with a decent ATAR. I chose to come to the University of Sydney as they had a great balance of sport and academics. It allowed me to play basketball in the national league while studying my interests in engineering and IT.

rsz_norths

To quote (the funny and smart) Kathryn herself, “in this photo I have an ‘interesting’ facial expression….”

My day looks like…. I normally wake up early and head straight to the gym to do my weights program. After weights I have class for four hours or so and spend my afternoons catching up on study. Most evenings I would either be at training or work. By the time I get home I am exhausted so I tune out with a couple of episodes of whatever’s good on Netflix!

The challenges are… Managing my time is definitely my greatest challenge. My week fills up pretty quickly so I am quite good at keeping my calendar up to date. I am a dedicated list maker and try to complete all of my assignments as early as I can.

My greatest achievement is… I was fortunate enough to represent Great Britain in their National Basketball team back in 2014. I lived in the UK for two months while taking the occasional trip to play in Italy, Russia, Macedonia and Belgium. Academically, I work hard to maintain a high distinction average. During the summer of 2015-16 I completed a 3-month internship with Google. I worked on a software engineering project at the coolest office in the world.

The toughest setback i’ve had… Coming back from my second knee reconstruction has been my toughest challenge. It came just after I returned from Great Britain and I was at the top of my game. Unfortunately, injuries are part of sport, so I used twelve months of rehab to focus on other areas of my life such as my friends, family and academics. I came out of that year more determined and mentally tough.

My ultimate goal(s) are… I would love to represent GB again, maybe at the next Commonwealth Games. And I hope to finish uni with a job that I enjoy. However my real goal in life is just to be happy.

My advice to younger girls is… Very few people know exactly what they want to do when they leave school. I still have no idea what is around the corner for me. But I strongly believe the best thing you can do is to try as many experiences and take all the opportunities that come your way. Sometimes you work out pretty quickly that it may not be your thing but at least you can cross that off your list and try something else!